To Top

    Watching the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) Movies in Chronological Order

    Watching the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) Movies in Chronological Order

    I am a fan of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. I recently introduced the series to my three children. Instead of watching the films according to release date, we viewed the twenty-three current films in chronological order starting with Captain America: The First Avenger and ending with Spider-Man: Far from Home. If you have not yet watched all the movies or want to take in the franchise again, chronological is the only way to go. Warning: The following movie descriptions contain spoilers.

    Captain America: The First Avenger

    Captain America: The First AvengerCaptain America: The First Avenger takes place during World War II and introduces Captain America (Steve Rogers), James Buchanan (Bucky) Barnes, Agent Peggy Carter, Howard Stark, Red Skull (Johann Schmidt), Arnim Zola, and the Tesseract.

    Agent Carter

    Agent CarterAgent Carter (television series) begins in 1946 and follows Agent Peggy Carter in her work as an SSR agent after World War II. The show introduces Edwin Jarvis, Howard Stark’s butler.

    Other television series in the MCU include Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and Inhumans, but I have included only Agent Carter in my chronological viewing. You can also begin watching Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. after Iron Man 3.

    Captain Marvel

    Captain MarvelCaptain Marvel introduces Captain Marvel (Carol Danvers), Nick Fury, Phil Coulson, and the Kree-Skrull War.

    Iron Man

    Iron ManIron Man introduces Tony Stark, the late Howard Stark’s son, as Iron Man as well as Happy Hogan, Pepper Potts, and James (Rhodey) Rhodes. Iron Man battles Iron Monger.

    Iron Man 2

    Iron Man 2Iron Man 2 continues the story of Iron Man and introduces Black Widow (Natasha Romanoff) and James Rhodes as War Machine. Iron Man battles Whiplash.

    The Incredible Hulk

    The Incredible HulkThe Incredible Hulk introduces Bruce Banner who becomes The Hulk after a military scheme to reinvigorate the Super-Soldier program that created Captain America through gamma radiation and General Thaddeus “Thunderbolt” Ross. The Hulk battles The Abomination.


    ThorThor introduces Thor, Loki, Odin, Jane Foster, Erik Selvig, Hawkeye (Clint Barton), and Mjolnir when Odin banishes Thor to Earth. Thor must prove himself worthy before his brother Loki takes the throne as king in Asgard.

    The Avengers

    The AvengersThe Avengers follows Nick Fury, Captain America, Iron Man, The Hulk, Thor, and Black Widow who work together to save the world when Loki steals the Tesseract and mind controls Hawkeye and Erik Selvig. Thanos makes his first appearance.

    Iron Man 3

    Iron Man 3Iron Man 3 follows Tony Stark after the events unleashed by Loki in New York City. Iron Man must save his loved ones from the Mandarin, the sinister head of the terrorist organization known as The Ten Rings, and Aldrich Killian of Advanced Idea Mechanics (AIM).

    Thor: The Dark World

    Thor: The Dark WorldThor: The Dark World follows Thor as he saves Jane Foster from the Aether and fights against the Dark Elf Malekith, a member of an ancient race who has returned to plunge the universe back into darkness. Thor partners with his brother Loki to save Earth and Asgard.

    Captain America: The Winter Soldier

    Captain America: The Winter SoldierCaptain America: The Winter Soldier introduces Falcon and Black Widow. Captain America and Black Widow strive to unravel a conspiracy that threatens the safety of the entire world.

    Guardians of the Galaxy

    Guardians of the GalaxyGuardians of the Galaxy introduces Peter Quill (Star-Lord), Gamora, Drax, Rocket, and Groot along with Nebula and Ronan the Accuser. The ragtag band of misfits battle to protect a mysterious orb from Nebula, Ronan, and ultimately Thanos.

    Guardians of the Galaxy 2

    Guardians of the Galaxy 2Guardians of the Galaxy 2 follows Peter Quill as he uncovers his true parentage. Old foes become new friends.

    Avengers: Age of Ultron

    Avengers: Age of UltronAvengers: Age of Ultron introduces Scarlet Witch (Wanda Maximoff), Quicksilver (Pietro Maximoff), and Vision and follows Tony Stark as he attempts to jumpstart a dormant peacekeeping program called Ultron. Earth’s Mightiest Heroes must stop Ultron from enacting his terrible plan. Ulysses Klaue makes his first appearance.


    Ant-ManAnt-Man introduces Scott Lang (Ant-Man), Hank Pym, and Hope van Dyne as Ant-Man battles Darren Cross (Yellowjacket) to protect the Ant-Man technology from villains.

    Captain America: Civil War

    Captain America: Civil WarCaptain America: Civil War follows Captain America as he leads a new team of Avengers. After a deadly incident leads to calls for government oversight and another pits the Winter Solider against the world, the Avengers split into two teams, one led by Captain America and the other led by Iron Man. Black Panther and Everett Ross make their first appearances.

    Spider-Man: Homecoming

    Spider-Man: HomecomingSpider-Man: Homecoming follows Peter Parker (Spider-Man) after he returns home after teaming with Iron Man. He attempts to prove himself as more than a friendly neighborhood Spider-Man to Iron Man while battling the villain Vulture.

    Doctor Strange

    Spider-Man: HomecomingDoctor Strange introduces Doctor Stephen Strange, Ancient One, Wong, and Masters of the Mystic Arts. After a car accident damages his hands, Doctor Strange begins studying under the Ancient One and eventually becomes the Sorcerer Supreme.

    Black Panther

    Black PantherBlack Panther follows T’Challa (Black Panther) after his father’s death as T’Challa fights for the throne of Wakanda and the fate of his country against his cousin Erik Stevens (Killmonger).

    Thor: Ragnarok

    Thor: RagnarokThor: Ragnarok introduces Valkyrie, Hela, and the Grandmaster as Thor races against time to save his world from Ragnarok, the prophesied destruction of Asgard. The Hulk reappears after disappearing after helping destroy Ultron.

    Ant-Man and the Wasp

    Ant-Man and the WaspAnt-Man and the Wasp follows Scott Lang in his final days of house arrest after he ended up in prison for helping Captain America and Bucky in Civil War. Scott as Ant Man must resume helping Hank Pym and Hope van Dyne on a new mission to uncover secrets from the past. Doctor Bill Foster makes his first appearance.

    Avengers: Infinity War

    Avengers: Infinity WarAvengers: Infinity War begins the ultimate showdown between Thanos the Mad Titan and the Avengers as Thanos continues his quest to collect all six Infinity Stones so he can destroy half of all life in the universe.

    Avengers: Endgame

    Avengers: EndgameAvengers: Endgame follows Thor, Black Widow, Captain America, and Bruce Banner after Thanos wipes out half of all existence. The remaining Avengers search for a way to reverse the Snap with the help of some new allies. Avengers: Endgame is the culmination of the 22-film story.

    Spider-Man: Far from Home

    Spider-Man: Far from HomeSpider-Man: Far from Home occurs after the events of Endgame, following Peter Parker (Spider-Man) on a school trip to Europe. Peter just wants to lead a normal life for the summer, but Nick Fury recruits him Mysterio and the Elementals begin showing up around the globe.

    Stay tuned for more additions to the MCU.

    Image Credits

    All images via Amazon

    More in Blog