To Top

    Preschool Homeschool Curriculum: Animal Life Cycles Lesson Plan

    Animal Life Cycles Books

    Objective: To learn about the life cycles of animals

    Message: Mammals are born live. Birds, fish, reptiles, and amphibians are born from eggs. Baby mammals, birds, fish, and reptiles look like small adults. Baby amphibians look different from adults.


    • The Life Cycle of a Human by Robin Merritt
    • Watch Animals Grow: Kittens by Colleen Sexton
    • Watch Animals Grow: Bear Cubs by Anne Wendorff
    • Watch Animals Grow: Seal Pups by Colleen Sexton
    • Horse Life Cycle by Eric Charlesworth
    • Life Cycles: Koalas by Ruth Daly
    • Watch Me Grow: Elephant by Lisa Magloff
    • Watch Me Grow: Kitten by Lisa Magloff
    • Watch Me Grow: Ape by Lisa Magloff
    • Watch Animals Grow: Ducklings by Colleen Sexton
    • Watch Me Grow: Turtle by Lisa Magloff
    • Watch Me Grow: Frog by Lisa Magloff
    • From Egg to Snake: Following the Life Cycle by Suzanne Slade
    • A Ladybug’s Life by John Himmelman
    • Born to Be a Butterfly by Karen Wallace
    • I’m a Caterpillar by Jean Marzollo

    Fine Motor Skills: Science Centers pages 72-81

    Craft/Activity 1: Life Cycle Worksheets

    • Mouse Life Cycle (
    • Kangaroo Life Cycle (
    • Bird Life Cycle (
    • Fish Life Cycle (
    • Turtle Life Cycle (
    • Frog Life Cycle (
    • Dragonfly Life Cycle (
    • Human Life Cycle (
    • Butterfly Life Cycle (

    Craft/Activity 2: Life Cycle Coloring Sheets (


    Take It to Your Seat Science Centers, Grades PreK-K. 2005. Evan-Moor Educational Publishers. ISBN 978-1-59673-090-8

    Image Credits

    Animal Life Cycles Books © 2015 Heather Johnson

    More in Homeschool